Old School Workouts and Spring Smoothies

My sister has a theory; buy lots of summer clothes and summer will magically appear. Though I am a summer baby and love summer myself I don’t want summer to magically appear. Why? Because I do not want to rush past spring!  Not only do you get to wear the cutest clothes and brightest colors throughout spring, but in my option, spring is when the best seasonal produce is available, not to mention, the weather is a perfect blend of a light breeze and warm sun. However when I woke this morning to find it was only 32° outside I decided my new theory is if I drink a lot of fresh fruit smoothies, spring will magically appear. No more frozen fruit! Spring produce offers the best seasonal berries and I am demanding Mother Nature to start allowing the sun to come out and grow them.

I shared in my early introduction to this blog how I have a love of working out.  Spring is a great transition time that affords you some time before summer to get in shape as the dreaded bikini season approaches. College is stressful, there is no arguing that, with school, work, friends, finances and much more, making time to exercise is a great way to relieve some of that end of the semester stress!

P.S. the best part about working out, is that it’s free! Most colleges have a gym or athletic complex for their students, but for those of you who aren’t so fortunate or dread the college gym scene, there are many ways to stay active and never step foot in a gym. Personally I like running or long walks on the beach (hopefully the weather will start to warm soon though so I can be lying on the beach instead of running on it), and once I’m outside or on the beach I like to add a little old school workout routine to the mix, similar to the one I’ve included below:

25 Jumping jacks

1 minute High knee’s

25 lunges

25 squats

1 minute bicycle crunches

1 minutes oblique twists

15 toe touch crunches

(Repeat all 3 times)

 

Now, after a nice long workout I reward myself with a yummy springtime berry filled smoothie:

This recipe can be found at http://www.acedarspoon.com/pomegranate-blueberry-banana-smoothie/

This recipe can be found at http://www.acedarspoon.com

1 cup of almond milk

1 serving of vanilla protein powder

1 banana

Handful of raspberries, blueberries and strawberries (However many you like just make sure if it gets to think to add more Almond milk)

1tbs of Hemp (wheat germ, chia or flax seeds are yummy add-ins as well)

One response

  1. haha if I had known you were going to talk about my theories online I would have come up with something better than my summer theory! But I do love the berry smoothie, except I don’t do bananas =P

Leave a Reply

